PERSONAL INJURY ATTORNEY ILLINOIS & MISSOURI
Any time that someone is injured by someone else, there is a potential personal injury claim. But there’s a lot to prove in a personal injury case in Illinois or Missouri. As a general rule of thumb, you may not need a personal injury lawyer unless you suffered injuries that require medical attention beyond basic first aid. Likewise, it should be relatively clear that someone else caused the injury. Here are some key points to remember about personal injury cases.
TYPES OF PERSONAL INJURY CASES WE HANDLE
This is just a brief list of the types of injury cases we generally accept. If you don’t see your specific injury, that’s okay. Give us a call and we will discuss whether it’s something we may be willing to help you resolve.
- Motor vehicle accidents
- Trucking accidents
- Motorcycle crashes
- Scooter, bicycle and pedestrian crashes
- Boating or recreational accidents
- Slip and fall injuries
- Dog bites and animal attacks
- Wrongful death
DEADLINES FOR FILING A PERSONAL INJURY CASE
In most cases, you would have 2 years in Illinois and 5 years in Missouri to bring your lawsuit. However there are exceptions to this general rule surrounding certain companies. It is always better to seek legal advice sooner rather than later so as to preserve your statute of limitations
PAYING A PERSONAL INJURY LAWYER
Personal injury cases carry a bit of risk, which is why our firm accepts and carries that risk for our clients. We advance litigation expenses and all of the costs of pursuing justice, so that our clients can remain focused on healing. If we can’t recover compensation, then we just write-off those expenses. We accept all injury cases on a contingent fee basis, meaning we only collect our fee from the settlement or jury award. This means, you will never have to come up with a check to pay our fees.
TYPES OF COMPENSATION AVAILABLE
Depending on the type and severity of the injury, compensation may include:
- Lost wages
- Medical bills
- Future anticipated medical costs
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress
- Lost future earnings
- Cost of adaptive equipment
- Out-of-pocket costs and expenses
In cases involving wrongful death, family members can also collect compensation for things like:
- Final medical costs
- Funeral bills
- Burial expenses
- Loss of love and affection
- Loss of financial and emotional support
Let Your Recovery Start Here
FAQs – Personal Injury
After the accident, first make sure that you and your passengers are ok and safe.
If it is safe to keep your vehicle in place, then leave it in place and wait for the police to arrive. If not, and if your vehicle can be moved, move your vehicle to the closest safe area and wait for the police to arrive.
Yes. Always call 911 after an accident and wait for the police to arrive to the accident scene. Once the police arrive follow their instructions.
Yes. If you have any complaints of pain or believe you may have suffered an injury because of your accident you should seek medical treatment.
Yes. If it can be done safely you should take photographs of the damage to both vehicles and the accident scene. If you are not able to take photos at the time of the accident, then take photos of the damage of your vehicle as soon as reasonably possible.
Yes. If you are able, ask anyone who saw your accident for their name and phone number so that they can be contacted if necessary.
Yes. Contact your own insurance company, explain the details of the accident, and follow your own insurance company’s advice.
No. There is no requirement for you to talk to the insurance company of the person that hit you.
No. There is no requirement for you to give a recorded statement to the insurance company of the person that hit you.
Yes. As time passes it is easy to forget the details of the accident, your injuries and the events occurring after the accident. Writing down these details, whether it is on your computer or a simple pad of paper can help you recall all these details later.
There are time limits for filing claims and these time limits can vary depending upon which State you were injured and the facts of your accident. Contact our firm as soon as you can after your accident and our lawyers can discuss with you what time limits may apply to your accident.
Yes. The sooner you contact our firm about your accident, the sooner we can take steps to protect your rights.
We do not recommend that you try to settle your claim by yourself. Insurance claim representatives are trained to try to settle claims for as little as possible.
Discuss Your Case
Get a free face-to-face consultation with a JSK lawyer now.